View our Practice Areas

What Should I Do After a DUI Arrest in DuPage County?

Naperville DUI Lawyers Take Action After Drunk Driving Allegations

Most DUI arrests start with a traffic stop. Police officers claim that you were committing a traffic violation — like speeding, swerving or turning without signaling — that gave them reasonable suspicion to pull you over. Officers will usually ask for your driver's license, registration and car insurance. If they suspect that you were driving, they may ask you to step out of the vehicle and participate in field sobriety tests. If you fail these tests, you may be placed under arrest for DUI and taken to the police station.

But, what should you do after a DUI arrest? The lawyers at Michael T. Norris, Ltd. and John W. Callahan, Ltd., know what works. We represent people accused of driving under the influence in DuPage and Kane Counties.

Michael T. Norris is a former criminal prosecutor with a unique understanding of what goes on in the minds of our opposition. He has seen the way police and prosecutors approach cases and knows how to defend against them.

Should I Refuse the Breath Test?

People often wonder whether or not they should take a breath test (often called a Breathalyzer), which determines their blood alcohol content. If this is your first DUI arrest, you may face driver's license suspension for six months if you blow and your blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08 or greater. If you choose not to blow, you could face suspension for 12 months.

If this is your second DUI arrest within the past five years — or even your third or fourth DUI arrest during that time — the penalties increase. You could face driver's license suspension for 12 months with no option to get a Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP) if you blow .08 BAC or greater. If you choose not to blow, you could face a 36 month suspension of your driver's license with no driving relief.

Saving Your Driver's License

When you are arrested for DUI, the clock starts ticking against you. You have only 46 days to before your drivers license is suspended in Illinois. If you fail to act, your license could be suspended for anywhere between six months and three years.

Don't let the clock tick by. Restart it yourself. If you contact a Michael T. Norris, Ltd. and John W. Callahan, Ltd., lawyer in time, your lawyer should file a petition to rescind the suspension. If the state does not give you a hearing within 30 days or the first court date, your license will not get suspended.

Many clients ask if it is important to contact an attorney right away. If you want to make lemonade out of lemons, the Petition to Rescind the Statutory Summary Suspension should be filed as soon as possible. We can file the Petition immediately to protect your driving privileges in Illinois.

Talk to an Attorney

The smartest thing you can do after a DUI arrest is contact an attorney. The attorneys at Michael T. Norris, Ltd. and John W. Callahan, Ltd., know your rights and know how to keep them protected. We focus on criminal defense and handle many DUI cases, so we know the way to achieve results.

Contact Michael T. Norris, Ltd. and John W. Callahan, Ltd., today. Call us toll free at 1-877-335-6693 or contact us online for a free and confidential consultation. Our phones are answered 24 hours a day.